Unplug and Re-connect

As I write I am holding my phone. It is plugged into the car charger because it is nearly out of gas. That’s because it has become a fairly permanent fixture to my body.  In many ways it has become my portal to the world. In other words, I interact with reality through my phone. I get my news through the phone. I interact with work through my phone. I conduct my personal life through my phone. It’s the first thing I look at in the morning and the last thing I glanced at before closing my eyes at night. I used to get on to my kids and be annoyed that they were on their phones too much. Now they could claim that the reverse is true.

The tough thing is that it is genuinely hard to put the phone down and leave it alone. That’s partly why we created Wit’s End. At the edge of the wilderness, with no cable, internet, Wi-Fi, or cell phone signal to speak of, Wit’s End is our place to break away from the artificial reality created by our connection to the cell phone. For our family and our guests it’s a place to clear your head, remember who you are, and reconnect with people, ideas, and the tactile beauty and complexity of creation. I am convinced that humanity needs these kinds of places to unplug and reconnect.

Time and time again the wilderness is lifted up in my faith tradition as a place to encounter the Holy. It’s likely that humanity has needed quiet places away from the din of society since the beginning of time in order to more fully taste, touch, receive, feel, listen, see, and encounter truth, love, and healing.  Natural places of quiet beauty grant us a break from our experience of reality, and provide a soothing tonic to our minds, bodies and spirits. They also allow us the space to connect and reconnect with activities, concepts, and people that fuel our growth and development as members of humanity and creation. 

To get a feel for one such “quiet” place or to book your own recuperative stay investigate the links below. 

https://m.facebook.com/WitsEndConasauga/

http://abnb.me/EVmg/w9BfIUKuwC

Until next time,

John

Leave a Reply

